Verse

In my defence

Darling, in the first days of our love

I pre-made a little heartbreak:

It sits waiting behind a lock

for the day that I get cut.

 

A little device to save myself

from ruined eyeliner and losing face.

Darling, I know you’re real good

but I must; just in case.

 

According to Freud and biology

defence mechanisms are a primitive thing,

a residual muscle memory string

in the deep of our animal beings:

 

Nature’s plan in place for calamity days,

to ensure

that there is a ready-made procedure

to stay unfazed.

 

Forgive me darling, but it’s only

standard, only routine

like health insurance or sunscreen-

a map to sanctuary.

                     

Image by Lukasz Wierzbowski

Image by Lukasz Wierzbowski

Standard

One thought on “In my defence

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – Daniel Shand – Fallow (Mystery Thriller) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

