Verse

Separation: day two

Uh-oh,

the layers are peeling off

and I look more like

my preferably-avoided side

in photographs.

 

You probably don’t know

how easy it is for me to resort

to a convenient moral code

based on the fact that nothing matters at all

in the end.

 

Especially when,

there isn’t someone worthwhile to notice

how I can be spotlessly part of all this

weight to deliver better than our body dust-

like you.  

 

So, can you send me a picture

from the faraway?

So I can reaffirm reasons and better days.

It’s important. I’m fading.

I hope you remain.
    

   

Image - Laurent Van Assche

Image – Laurent Van Assche

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Separation: day two

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 6 – “Nobody Dances Sober For Long” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

