Verse

Stolen bests

In a dream

there is a tree trimmed road

rolling to your door.

 

It doesn’t even cross my mind to step inside.

 

There’s a sky growing cold,

ageing  air

with a smell of wild grass

the hovering of beetles

battering through.

Nothing, no one else.

 

Now I have a stifling fear in my throat;

that everything I love-

stone paved floors,

smokey brick walls,

creeping moss,

heart-wrenching rebel songs-

is nothing but,

a memory of you.

That all of my best is what I stole from you

unwittingly, unknowingy

as I watched you avidly

through the cracks of your face,

as I drank in greedily

your golden rays.

 

However,

whatever,

I know from the sand of my bones,

that our script is destruction.

Hard, mind-blowing, life-threatening,

meaningless destruction.

So, there it is;

I just let you go

in a secret told

to air too thick

to carry it away.      

Photo - Hot afternoon in Langano by Chelsea Sullens

Photo – Hot afternoon in Langano by Chelsea Sullens

Standard

37 thoughts on “Stolen bests

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Intense | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Intense! | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Beans on toast and a woolly jumper… | On My Front Porch

  4. Pingback: Fulfilling Promises to a Ghost | Cheri Speak

  5. Pingback: The Playground Bully | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: The hurricane’s eye | Historiefortelling

  7. Pingback: Intense Sunlight | Eyes to Heart

  8. Pingback: Unavailable | Kansa Muse

  9. Pingback: Intense reaction | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  10. Pingback: Why so intense, Surfer Rob? | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Pingback: SO… I LOVE YOU | hastywords

  12. Pingback: Rhetoric of fear | Historiefortelling

  13. Pingback: Oh, Henri! How Right You Are… - Compass & Quill

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  15. Pingback: For A Drink I Can Conquer The World | The Jittery Goat

  16. Pingback: What is Surfer Rob so scared of? | Rob's Surf Report

  17. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | BulgingButtons

  18. Pingback: Scaredy pants | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  19. Pingback: Gender-Bending Fantasy Wish Granted! | Edward Hotspur

  20. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | flow of my soul

  21. Pingback: of loss | Anawnimiss

  22. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  23. Pingback: Blogger of good repute | A mom's blog

  24. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  25. Pingback: Am I Eccentric Or Just Normal In My Own Way? | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  26. Pingback: “What’s your favorite color?”/Daily Prompt/Reputation | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  27. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | The Wandering Poet

  28. Pingback: Crises and Time Management (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  29. Pingback: Gotta Protect My Reputation – Or Maybe Shed It | Edward Hotspur

  30. Pingback: Blogger of repute | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  31. Pingback: What is YOUR Online Reputation? | Cheri Speak

  32. Pingback: “I’ve got a rad reputation / as a cool dude” | Rob's Surf Report

  33. Pingback: Salad Days | Jen Cab

  34. Pingback: Life Is Beautiful | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

Leave a Reply

