Sonder

The buried cleaning lady

You stuck your broom between my feet, sweeping out young, expensive  dirt.

I turned back aghast at your inconsideration, expecting red knives and needles,

but there was nothing;

nothing but a yellow, mellow you cleaning the floor.

I recognised, it was really my offence,

to miss your kind blindness.

See, the thousand colourful people and the musical mall- they couldn’t see you,

and you, them.

A genial indifference,

a courteous disremember,

a mutual burial,

between you, the plaza and me.  

 

Photo- robyngough.com

Photo- robyngough.com

Standard

9 thoughts on “The buried cleaning lady

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Kindness of Strangers? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Kindness In Small Amounts | Prairie Views

  3. Pingback: The UNkindness of Strangers | lynnesartandsoul

  4. Pingback: The Kindness of Strangers | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Little Pepinas… | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  6. Pingback: Daily prompt – Kindness | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: The Kindness of Strangers | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: To my fellow Commuters | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  9. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Give Me A Little Danger of My Own, Stranger” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

