Verse

Demon

Today in a moment of emptied truth,

I glimpsed a demon at the door to your room.

In your clothes, with your keys,

she burned her eyes and ground her teeth.

In my eyes she melted to shame,

and hid in the shadows of your mundane.

But, I caught her quiet, ragged cries,

ringing estranged woes of your life.

Then tomorrow’s second came

and your cup stood poisoned still the same.    

Photo - Sergey Mikhaylovich Prokudin

Photo – Sergey Mikhaylovich Prokudin

Standard

13 thoughts on “Demon

  1. Pingback: Boundaries and Abuse | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Devils in Disguise | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hoodwinked | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: Lockers, Lasers, and the Great Prank War (Daily Prompt) | Thinking Diagonally

  6. Pingback: My hustle that never quite happened | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  7. Pingback: I Thought I Knew What I Was Getting | 365 Days of Thank You

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  9. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Whoppers” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: First Sight, the answer to all my problems | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  11. Pingback: Daily prompt – Connections | The Wandering Poet

  12. Pingback: Houston, I have fallen in love! | The Hempstead Man

  13. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: First Sight | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

